Buckley’s Hole 25-1-15

How good are holidays? I returned to Buckleys a touch earlier this morning, at around 4.30, as low tide would be at 7. It was a 6 knot north westerly that blew up around midday and the large tides continued. Thankfully, though, the rain had finally stopped. 

I continued fishing light, opting for my 2-4kg shimano raider/2500 symetre (below right) with 10lb fluorocarbon trace. I decided to stick to pilchard fillets, while using by-catch as bait for my heavier bait runner setup. 

A slow start was compounded by the amount of debris that low tide was bringing. Fast moving water and weed/driftwood forced several beer breaks. As the tide began to turn, the fish also started chewing. Much like yesterday, there were several species around, but the most common of which was Moses Perch. 

It was another feeding day for the smaller fish, as I reeled in a dozen plus MP’s. Luckily, they fight reasonably well for their size- anything over mid 30’s would push my 10lb leader to the max. The biggest one I managed today was a 26cm model, seen here:

A solitary legal bream also kept me busy, but for the most part it was a quiet day. The frame of a smaller MP went untouched for over an hour, so even the rays and wobbygongs were quiet. I had to concede to a Maccas trip on the way home, but hopefully Scarborough reef delivers tomorrow (if I can get home in time tonight). Happy fishin! 

Leave a comment