Old oyster jetty 25-4-15

After being tied down with uni and a couple of very average nudgee beach trips, I got to the mainland side of bribie at 6.45 this morning. Low tide was at 9.15, draining to 0.8m and a westerly was blowing 5 knots- leaving glassy conditions in the passage. 

I used a shimano Sahara 2-5kg/2500 combo with 10lb power pro tied to 8lb (Asian) sunline fluorocarbon. I started with a zman curly tail in motor oil on a tt headlocks 1/0 1/8 jighead. 

The late start meant I arrived in the middle of what should be prime-time. Within my first 5 casts I had landed my first flathead- a 50cm model waiting just south of the jetty in a slightly deeper sandy bottom. The motor oil colour worked well for about an hour, producing about 5 flatties, each one slightly smaller than the last.

  
The AYU colour zman diesel minnow quickly performed, with a 40cm model picking it up within the lure even touching the bottom on my first cast. This lure enticed another fish or two, but the lack of tidal flow began to make the fish far more tentative and the weed increasingly frustrating.  

My stomach’s regret of throwing back at least two legal size fish was compounded when my trusty zman natural curly tail also failed me. It may have been a day more suited to large hard bodies or even slugs, but at 9am I called it. By 10am the first flatty had become lunch, and I headed back to Brisbane. 

Hoping to pick up a spot on a boat next weekend for the full moon, other than that enjoy the weekends folks! 

  

Leave a comment